Tuesday, 24 May 2011

National Team 33

Following the release of the National Team squad, these are the 33 who will don the colours of the Nation.

1. Lionel Lewis (Home United FC)
2. Juma'at Jantan (Home United FC)
3. Shi Jia Yi (Home United FC)
4. Qiu Li (Home United FC)
5. Hassan Sunny (Tampines Rovers)
6. Shahdan Sulaiman (Tampines Rovers)
7. Shaiful Esah (SAFFC)
8. Fazrul Nawaz (SAFFC)
9. Ismail Yunos (Gombak United FC)
10. Hariss Harun (CYL)
11. Khairul Amri (Persiba Balikpapan)
12. Safuwan Baharudin (CYL)
13. Mustafic Fahrudin (Persela Lamongan)
14. Daniel Bennett (SAFFC)
15. Aleks Duric (Tampines Rovers)
16. Isa Halim (Home United FC)
17. Irwan Shah (CYL)
18. Raihan Rahman (CYL)
19. Faris Ramli (CYL)
20. Shakir Hamzah (CYL)
21. Zulfahmi Arifin (CYL)
22. Afiq Yunos (CYL)
23. Izwan Mahbud (CYL)
24. Delwinder Singh (Tanjong Pagar United FC)
25. Shukor Zailan (Tampines Rovers)
26. Ruzaini Zainal (SAFFC)
27. Sufian Anuar (Home United FC)
28. Andrew Tan (Balestier Khalsa)
29. Nazrul Ahmad Nazari (CYL)
30. Shahril Ishak (Medan Chiefs)
31. Hamqammal Shah (Gombak United FC)
32. Khairul Nizam (CYL)
33. Fazli Ayob (CYL)

Source: Daniel Lau

To be honest, I don't think this squad isn't chosen by merit as what coach Raddy had said. Certainly, if its based on merit, Ahmad Latiff of Tampines Rovers should have been in. Khairul Nizam of CYL, who has missed 8 months of football, should not be in. Certainly, this squad is focused on younger players. There are a few players who deserved to be in the team, some who don't. I do not wish to name names, but certainly, some players were overlooked. This certainly includes Shahril Jantan who have been one of the most consistent goalkeepers in the S-League for the past 4 years at least.

Some players in this team have not played much, yet they are in the team. This shows how good they are so perhaps coach Raddy sees something in them. But whatever it is, I'm giving my support to this team and we are ready for Malaysia or Chinese Taipei!

No comments:

Post a Comment